Todd Petersen of Petersen & Petersen has built a solid reputation for defending the rights of individuals charged with misdemeanor and felony offenses in northeast Ohio. He understands the challenges and uncertainties that accompany being accused of a crime, and he is here to help.
Criminal charges in the state of Ohio are typically referred to as either “misdemeanors” or “felonies.” There are five classes of misdemeanors: The least serious crimes are classified as “minor misdemeanors,” for which no jail can be imposed. From there, the classifications move numerically from “fourth degree misdemeanors” punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $250 to “first degree misdemeanors,” which have a potential sentence of 180 days in jail and a fine of $1,000. Felonies are also divided into five classes, ranging numerically from “fifth degree misdemeanors” punishable by 6 to 12 months in prison and a fine up to $2,500 to “first degree felonies,” which are punishable by up to 11 years in prison and a $20,000 fine. Murder and aggravated murder are actually known as “unclassified felonies” and carry their own specific sentencing guidelines.
Regardless of what you are charged with, understanding the classification and the potential penalties is just a very small part of what you need to know going forward. It is an absolute must that counsel be contacted as soon as you are charged or arrested; evidence disappears, memories fade and potential defenses are lost forever. For that matter, if you are contacted by law enforcement during the course of an investigation, call us immediately: Your chances of talking your way into charges is far greater than your chance of talking your way out of them.
We look forward to putting our experience to work for you.